Our Team


Aimee van Wynsberghe

Aimee van Wynsberghe

President and Co-Founder

Dr. Aimee van Wynsberghe is currently Assistant Professor in Ethics of Technology at the Delft University of Technology. She has published the book Healthcare Robots: Ethics, Design and Implementation (Ashgate, 2015) as well as numerous peer-reviewed articles in academic journals. In 2015 she was awarded a prestigious Veni grant to study the ethical issues of service robots, and she has been named one of the 400 most successful women in the Netherlands under 38 (Viva 400). In 2017, she was named one of Robohub’s “25 women in robotics you need to know about”.

Personal website >

Noel Sharkey

Noel Sharkey

Treasurer and Co-Founder

Noel Sharkey is Emeritus Professor of Robotics and Artificial Intelligence, University of Sheffield and Chair of the NGO International Committee for Robot Arms Control.  He has been a psychologist, artificial intelligence researcher, computer scientist, cognitive scientist, roboticist. He was well known for early work in neural computing and evolutionary methods before turning to robot ethics. He has held numerous research and teaching positions in the UK (Sheffield, Exeter, Essex) as well as the US (Yale, Stanford). Noel is best known to the public from his work on popular BBC series such as Robot Wars. He has nearly 2000 TV, Radio and print interviews and appearances under his belt.

Personal website >

Further information on Board of Directors

Executive Board

The FRR’s Executive Board is comprised of international world leading thinkers in technology and ethics. The board lends its expertise to FRR leadership to shape the future direction of the Foundation.

Alena Popova

Social and Political Activist, Founder of the «Human Capital» fund

Thompson Chengeta

Researcher in Law, Oxford University

Sethu Vijaya Kumar

Professor of Robotics, University of Edinburgh

Peter Asaro

Associate Professor of Media Studies - The New School

Nadia Abouayoub

Strategist of Finance and AI, British Computer Society

Ryan Calo

Associate Professor of Law - University of Washington

Rafael Capurro

Philsopher - Stuttgart Media University

Kate Darling

Research Specialist - MIT Media Lab

Laure Belot

Author, Journalist - Le Monde


Vanessa Evers

Professor of Human Media Interaction - University of Twente

Denise Garcia

Associate Professor of Political Science and International Affairs - Northeastern University

Kerstin Dautenhahn

Professor of Artificial Intelligence - University of Hertfordshire

Deborah Johnson

Anne Shirley Carter Olsson Professor Emeritus of Applied Ethics - University of Virginia


Garry Kasparov

Author, Former World Chess Champion

Ian Kerr

Professor and Canada Chair in Ethics, Law & Technology - University of Ottawa

Naho Kitano

Former Representative Director - HiBot Corp.


Patrick Lin

Professor of Philosophy - Cal Poly

Robin Murphy

Raytheon Professor of Computer and Engineering - Texas A&M


Illah Nourbakhsh

Professor of Robotics - Carnegie Mellon University

Fiorella Operto

President - Scuola di Robotica


Johanna Seibt

Professor with Special Responsibilities - Aarhus University


Amanda Sharkey

Senior Lecturer - University of Sheffield

Lucy Suchman

Professor of Anthropology of Science of Technology - Lancaster University

Daniel Suarez


John Sullins

Professor of Philosophy of Science and Technology - Sonoma State University

Sherry Turkle

Abby Rockefeller Mauzé Professor of the Social Studies of Science and Technology - MIT

Jeroen van den Hoven

Professor Ethics and Technology - Delft University of Technology

Gianmarco Veruggio

Roboticist - CNR & Scuola di Robotica

Wendell Wallach

Scholar - Yale University, Interdisciplinary Center for Bioethics

Matthias Scheutz

Professor of Computer Science - Tufts

Susanne Beck

Legal Scholar - Liebniz University

Expertise Committees

The Expertise Committees are made up of experts in the technical and legal fields surrounding robotics and lend their knowledge for FRR operations including consultation documents and events.

Technical Expertise Committee

Legal Expertise Committee

Virginia Dignum

Associate Professor, Faculty of Technology, Policy and Management - Delft University of Technology

Charles Ess

Professor, Department of Media and Communications - University of Oslo

Kay Firth-Butterfield

Barrister, Executive Director and Foundation Advocate - AI-Austin


Hin-Yan Liu

Associate Professor, Centre for International Law, Conflict and Crisis - University of Copenhagen

Mark Coeckelbergh

Professor, Department of Philosophy - University of Vienna

Kevin Kelly

Founding Editor - Wired Magazine

Christopher Markou

PhD Candidate, Faculty of Law - University of Cambridge

Kristen Thomasen

Assistant Professor of Law, Robotics and Society - University of Windsor, Canada

Michael Nagenborg

Assistant Professor for Philosophy of Technology - University of Twente

Christopher Schlachta

Professor of Surgery and Oncology - Western University

Marloes Roelands

Associate Partner at IBM

Denise Soesilo

Advisor on UAVs


Arthur van der Wees

Founder and Managing Director, Arthur’s Legal

Organizing Committee

The Organizing Committee is a group of members that handles the day-to-day operations of the FRR to ensure that it functions as planned (e.g., financial, membership, administrative, and operative matters).

Duuk Baten

Social Media Chair

Eduard Fosch Villaronga

Relationship Coordinator


Clara Baltay


Scott Robbins